Customer Feedback

  • Fantastic company. We originally were show our property by Stuart and immediately could see the potential. Offer was placed and Stuart very quickly tied it up. Fraser then took charge of our deal and took it too completion. Great after sales by Fraser. Easy process!! Would definitely use again

    Scott Clarke, 5 November 2016

    Purchaser

  • We have known Downer & Co for nine years during which time they have always been professional and extremely helpful. They have a wealth of experience and during the past 9 years we have used their services for selling two houses and purchasing one. Richard will always offer good advice, even if its not to your liking, he is honest and we respect that. Fraser takes time to make you feel a valued customer and returns calls promptly. We were looking to purchase a very specific type of property and Richard and Fraser contacted us immediately it became available. Throughout the process they are professional, friendly and helpful and provided an extremely good service, we would not hesitate to recommend or use them again.

    Terry and Diane, 25 January 2016

    Purchasers

  • From the first meeting it was obvious they were very straight forward and professional, with no false promises or unreal expectations, just an honest and frank appraisal of our home and what we could expect. House sold in nine days, but sale went wrong at the last minute ( not their fault but first in the chain). They immediately went to work and sold again from buyer waiting in the wings. Could not fault these guys, and would recommend them to anyone who wants to sell with minimum strife.

    Mick and Pauline, 8 January 2016

    Vendors

  • We were very impressed with Downer & Co from start to finish. We felt the valuation was thorough and fair, and Leo made us feel very confident that they we could rely on them to see the sale safely through to completion- they weren’t just all about the marketing like some others seemed to be. Their fees were also competitive. Once on the market Downer & Co had many viewings lined up from day 1, and within 2 weeks we had sold for more than expected. Over the next couple of months Fraser kept us in the loop where necessary, always getting back to us promptly, and in the final stages he and Leo were pivotal in helping the chain negotiate a completion date. Throughout the process Downer were professional, friendly and helpful and provided an extremely good service- we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them.

    Mr & Mrs Shephard, 14 December 2015

    Vendors

  • Richard Bailey gave us sound advice as to valuation and marketing of our property and was always available to answer any queries or concerns we might have.

    Once our property was sold, Fraser Crumlish was proactive on our behalf through a rather protracted exchange process. He was always positive and kept us advised of progress (or on some occasions lack of it!). Fraser must have been dealing with many other sales, but made you feel as if yours was the important one.

    Thanks – Downer & Co.

    Erika, 26 November 2015

    Vendor

  • Richard arranged a viewing and dealt with our offer very quickly and professionally. We had terms agreed within 48 hours of seeing the property.

    Fraser then dealt with us over the lengthy time to get to exchange (through no fault of Downers) in a patient and, again, professional manner, keeping us updated regularly with progress and keeping the vendors calm when they were getting extremely frustrated about the time taken.

    All was sorted in the end and we complete on Friday! Looking forward to moving and will certainly recommend Downers to others, both to buy and sell through.

    Chris, 24 November 2015

    Purchaser

  • Both Leo and Fraser were thoughtful, professional and courteous in their approach during my search for and eventual purchase of the right property for me. The whole process would have been far more stressful without their assistance, for which I was very grateful. Their replies to any questions or messages were prompt and helpful, and always took my needs into consideration. However busy their own workload was, they always made me feel that I was a valued and important customer, which is quite rare these days in many areas of business. I would certainly recommend Downers very highly to anyone needing an estate agent or property advice.

    C. R. Dawes, 12 November 2015

    Purchaser

  • Downer were recommended to me by a friend. Having never rented out a property before, I was unsure of all the steps that I needed to take and how to get started.

    From my initial meeting with Lee and his in depth knowledge of the industry and local area, right through to the admin backup from Christine in the office, Downer made the whole end to end process from the property marketing to selecting the most appropriate tenant very simple and very easy to understand which was greatly appreciated.

    I would have no hesitation whatsoever in using Downer again or recommending then to any prospective Landlords.

    Roy, 10 November 2015

  • Excellent service, obtained a quality tenant within days of instructing Downers, Melissa was a pleasure to deal with and got the right tenant for us. Would highly recommend them.

    Shaun Lord, 8 November 2015

    Landlord

  • Downer and Co were recommended to me by a friend. What a good recommendation this has proved to be.
    I engaged with Downer & Co to provide their non-managed services to find a tenant and make all the necessary arrangements.
    Lee and the team are clearly a professional outfit.
    Viewings commenced within a few days of my first contact, and tenants were found and arrangements put in place to commence the let in accordance with my target date.
    Communication was prompt throughout and all members of Downer & Co were always helpful.
    This relationship is likely to be long term and I would not hesitate to recommend Downer & Co to other landlords.

    Brian Holland, 7 November 2015

    Landlord

  • I received excellent advice and service from the staff at Downers. They helped with a situation which could have been a problem i.e. an unsuitable tenant . As I am remote to the property and they were local they went beyond the normal remit to bring the situation to successful outcome .

    Phillip Stickland, 7 November 2015

    Landlord

  • I have been a customer of Downer & Co for 5 years and would highly recommend them.

    I first met Lee when I was looking for an agent to rent my apartment and found him professional, down-to-earth and reliable. Lee has remained as an overall point of contact if ever I need to discuss anything with him and the rest of the team consistently provide an efficient and professional service.

    Since Downer & Co have managed my property, they have done exactly what a letting agency should do; they have ensured my property is permanently let, they have given me excellent advice on which tenant to select and they make reasoned, helpful suggestions. When things need addressing such as the inevitable maintenance issues, they get them sorted with the minimum of fuss and cost. Further, the only occasion when I had reason to make a query, it was quickly handled in a professional and satisfactory way that made me feel I was a valued customer.

    In short, if I had another property in the area that I wanted letting, I would have no hesitation placing my business with Downers.

    Andy, 7 November 2015

    Landlord

  • Leo and Fraser were friendly and helpful throughout. They offered detailed advice without being pushy and made the process as straightforward and positive as possible. If only all agents operated in that way.

    ‘Sophie Meney’, 11 September 2015

    Purchaser

  • We had a few hiccups with our house purchase for several reasons, which could have dragged on and on, but with the relentless and tireless efforts of Fraser Crumlish we pushed to an exchange all with a sense of humor in tact. Fraser is completely on top of his game and controls all aspects of sales progression with absolute efficiency. Without Fraser this could have gone on and on.
    I would recommend anyone to sell their property through Downer & co. as I experienced genuine care and professionalism from Leo Downer who managed the sale and Stuart Vosper who worked hard for us in Leo’s absense (holiday)

    Louise Farnell, 21 August 2015

    Purchaser

  • I have recently exchanged on a property where I was the bottom of the chain and the top was with Downer & Co. I was very impressed with the communication I received from Fraser nothing was too much trouble and he pushed all interested parties through to hit the date agreed by all. The deadline was hit and as soon as exchange had happened he called me to advise of which I was most grateful. Fraser was friendly, professional, thorough and on top of his game!

    Emma Holland, 14 August 2015

    Purchaser

  • We purchased a property from Downer who were professional and proactive from the beginning, but due to no fault of Downer, the conveyancing took an extraordinary long time and which caused considerable strain. Throughout this process Fraser remained in constant communication with me and tirelessly worked to bring solicitors, documentation and timescales together. His knowledge of location and history of home sales and purchases was considerable when areas of conveyancing were sometimes unnecessarily challenging. I came to rely on his support and management of the complete chain. He was always constructive and friendly, which helped immensely. I have also purchased and sold properties with Downer in past years and have always found them to be a reliable organisation.

    Gail Harris, 13 August 2015

    Purchaser

  • Stuart Vosper at Downer & Co did an outstanding job selling our house for us. He found us a buyer at asking price within a week and was extremely proactive throughout the process. We had a difficult chain and he really fought our corner and assisted in pushing things along to make the move happen. Definitely worth the commission; we feel that he really added value over and above simply finding us a buyer.

    ‘Kylie M, 4 August 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘Fantastic professional service . Staff were always friendly and available to speak to. My property was a shared ownership resale which makes it a little trickier to find suitable buyers , this wasn’t a problem and Stuart instantly arranged several serious viewings. The property achieved several offers straight away and was sold quickly. Stuart and Fraser kept in contact with myself and chased the sale through from start to finish to achieve a fast , stress free sale and completion. Would defiantly instruct again !!’

    Caz, 13 July 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘The team at Downer & Co were great with organising, processing and completing the entire purchase. A special mention to Fraser Crumlish who was the main person dealing with my purchase. He helped make the purchasing experience easier.’

    Sam Boyce, 9 July 2015

    Purchaser

  • ‘Rosemary, Lee and their colleagues in the Lettings team have taken great care of our house for the past 10 years that we’ve been overseas. They’ve been incredibly efficient and pro-active in fixing problems with the property – especially when it was flooded in 2007 whilst we were in the States! They have been quick to find new tenants, so that we have not lost income, and have kept us regularly up to date on the status of the property and tenants. The Downer Lettings team are extremely professional, efficient – and most of all FRIENDLY! We are now selling our rental property through the Downer Sales team, but if we ever decide to buy another rental property in the area, we will definitely use Downer & Co again!’

    Anna Hoyle, 11 June 2015

    Landlord

  • ‘I have been using Downer for 8 years now to rent out two properties in the Newbury area.

    The team who source new lodgers are very good, they give their honest feelings on applicants as well as doing thorough searches; which, when you leave abroad is a vital ingredient for finding good and trustworthy lodgers.

    The team that looks after the properties once they are rented, headed up by the wonderful Rosemary Anslow, are fabulous. Always on the ball. If there is a problem they come to me with several solutions – perfect! Small things that arise they just crack on and get them sorted. Their communication is always very good.

    Only one time in 8 years has there been a problem, we miscommunicated, it was a joint problem; we got everything sorted VERY quickly; and very quickly got back on track and I think the relationship grew from there in a positive way.

    They’re a great team. I trust their judgement and suggestions.

    I keep saying this, but they really are a great team and I’m very happy they’re looking after my properties :-)’

    Julia Stanbrook, 24 May 2015

    Landlord

  • ‘ We choose Downer and Co as they are well known in the area. Stuart sounded very positive and professional.’

    Davis, 19 May 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘We initially used Downers as we liked a property they were marketing. Stuart was very knowledgeable of the area, market and was generally impressive.’

    Whitford, 18 May 2015

  • ‘Good Service Throughout the process- Thanks.’

    Alston, 18 May 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘Downer had sold a similar property a few doors down and we had confidence in the sale. I had trust in Richard and felt he would deliver.’

    Hyslop, 14 May 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘We had used Downer and Company before and found the service to be very good.’

    Venning & Palmer, 29 April 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘Knowledgeable, professional and personable.’

    Jones, 25 April 2015

    Purchaser

  • ‘ I have used Downer and Co previously for selling but also to find tenants. I was impressed by Fraser, Stuart and Melissa.’

    Duly, 12 April 2015

  • ‘All staff at Downers have been totally amazing. We have negotiated a sale with a property which had ‘some issues’ and everybody has been helpful, constructive and very professional. The customer care and communication has been of the highest level, this is no mean feat as they had a mature lady and two grown up daughters all in different locations to keep informed. They went above and beyond the service I have ever received from an Estate Agent before! They were excellent.’

    KT, 5 March 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘Very rarely am I so impressed with a service that I feel compelled to write a review, but where Downers of Newbury are concerned, credit where credit is due. Downers were recommended to us firstly by my brother who sold his property using them and secondly through a good friend who bought a property with them.

    Stuart came to do the valuation of our property and we have to say he was by far the most genuine and honest agent we had to visit. He did not suggest a ludicrously high value in order to raise our hopes and secure the business, nor did he sell the property short to guarantee a quick sale and boost Downers sale figures. Instead we were advised of two parallel marketing strategies that would be suitable for our home and the ultimate value was left for us to decide.

    Having chosen to go with Downers, we had a draft brochure the next day and it was uploaded to Rightmove a day later. Within hours we had a call from Fraser to advise us of two bookings to view our property. Our telephone conversations with Fraser, the Office Manager, were always exceptionally professional and we were impressed with his attention to detail, never answering a question with ‘I don’t know’. The policy of asking all people viewing the property to remove their shoes when entering was also gratefully received.

    Our property was only on the market for two days, and was eventually sold to the right buyer following numerous conversations between Fraser and the two potential buyers. Our minds were put at ease during this process knowing that Downers had our very best interest at heart. Not only did they secure an ‘above asking price’ sale for us, but they also ensured that it was sold to the ‘right’ buyer who would be capable of completing the sale successfully and not one who offered the highest asking price only to pull out at the last minute.

    In conclusion, I could not fault the speed and professionalism of Fraser and Stuart at Downers of Newbury and cannot recommend them highly enough. They are a credit to their company and I would use them again tomorrow without hesitation.

    Thanks Downers!’

    Mr Barr, 4 March 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘We’ve been really impressed with the high quality of service throughout a very prolonged transaction.

    The best bits about Downer & Co:

    – No jargon, just plain English and down-to-earth approach
    – Personal and accountable service
    – Always an answer on the end of the phone when you need them
    – Particular recognition to Leo at offer stage, Fraser throughout the chain and exchange and Rebecca at completion

    The chain was a very long one, and meant that we needed to keep in touch with agents on both sides of our sale and purchase – Downer & Co far exceeded that of our own agent, and due to their size, were able to provide a much more tailored and bespoke service to us and our sellers.’

    Chris, 19 January 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘I can’t thank the team enough at Downer & co for their brilliant and efficient way of managing the sale of our house. Richard offered great advise and hugely exceeded our asking price!
    Fraser and Richard were always available to push the sale through and always on hand to even make me smile when things got a bit stressful towards the end …
    A very positive experience dealing with this honest, friendly and efficient team ! Wouldn’t hesitate in recommending them to anyone sellimg their property’

    L Farnell, 18 January 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘I would recommend Downers whether you are buying or selling a property. We chose them because of their good local reputation and because we have had some dreadful experiences in the past with other agencies.

    From first meeting Richard, they come across as a very professional company with a real attention to detail. The quality of their marketing materials and the speed at which a sale was achieved, as well as the price obtained, were all excellent.

    For us, the most impressive thing is how well they work as a team, with Richard handling the sale and negotiations; Fraser managing the chain and keeping everyone informed (including the solicitors) and chasing where necessary; Chris handling the viewings and providing useful feedback on each one and the team in the office – Jenny and Becs always helpful and responsive – everyone was unfailingly well-informed, good-humoured, friendly and helpful throughout.

    They may not be the cheapest, but you really feel that you are looked after through the whole process by a team of well-trained, intelligent people who genuinely care.

    It makes a change these days to come across a company who really care about customer service – Downers seem like the John Lewis of estate agents. We will certainly use them again in the future – highly recommended!’

    Matt, 16 January 2015

    Vendor and Purchaser

  • ‘I chose Downer based on the initial meeting that I had with Leo Downer, who was personable, straightforward and genuine in his answers to my questions. In comparison to other agents I met with, Leo came across as diligent and professional rather than trying desperately to get along with me in order to secure my custom. Once under offer, Fraser Crumlish managed the sale process and was also very helpful in providing advice with regards to our purchase. Fraser was conscientious, honest and prompt in relaying information and returning my calls. In the end, it was 0actually Fraser who ensured that the sale/purchase did not fall through, which it would have done had he not intervened and negotiated directly with my vendor’s solicitors (which should have been the job of my own solicitor). Other staff I came into contact with in the office were always polite, helpful and professional. I highly recommend Downer & Co.’

    Mrs Clark, 12 January 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘I would highly recommend Downer and Co as agents to sell a property. From the beginning the service was very professional and well informed. After arranging a buyer for my property quickly I was handed over to Fraser who dealt with the details of my sale excellently. From the outset he was brilliant. He was either always available or returned my calls very quickly. Nothing was too much and he never made me feel like I was being a hassle. While the purchase of my property dragged on, Fraser was always there to give me an update on how things were going more than anything just to put my mind at rest. There’s a very friendly feel with all the people at Downers and I always felt at ease when dealing with them. I will certainly be using them to sell again in the future.’

    RWS, 12 January 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘I used Downer & Co to sell my house and also bought a house through them. The service was excellent and I was kept up to date at all times. The team were more than happy to resolve any issues quickly and made the whole process very easy.’

    Emma, 10 January 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘Sold my house and my mother’s house using Downers. Excellent service and all staff professional and knowledgable. They really earned their fee! I will definitely use them again.’

    Sarah, 9 January 2015

    Vendor

  • ‘We were delighted with the service provided from beginning to end,  particularly with being kept informed at every stage of the selling process.   On the basis of our experience,  we would have no hesitation in recommending this firm.’

    Alastair & Joan, 28 November 2014

    Vendor

  • ‘We bought our property through this agent.  Fraser and Richard were brilliant. They acted on everything we asked them  and they were professional throughout, even when things  didn’t go smoothly . They were instrumental in ensuring our sale went through in a timely manner.

    I would definitely use them again and would not hesitate to recommend them.’

    N Roberts, 28 November 2014

    Purchaser

  • ‘Forget anything that you have heard about estate agents! The team at Downer & Co are fantastic! They are so supportive and helpful beyond their job description…I have both bought and sold through Downers and I would not hesitate in recommending them to everyone.
    This team go the extra mile and then some….this is the Gold Standard of Estate Agents…honest. helpful and so kind. I really cannot praise them enough! Lovely, lovely , lovely people!’

    Sue Langley, 17 November 2014

    Vendor

  • ‘They were very helpful and kept me informed at all times , i wish i could have sold my property with them , I would definitely recommend them to friends.’

    Vicky G, 25 October 2014

    Purchaser

  • ‘ We choose Downer as we previously sold a property through them, they also have a good local reputation. They found a buyer very quickly and achieved the full asking price. Stuart was helpful and offered good advice. He seemed highly motivated to sell the property.’

    Mrs Ananin, 21 October 2014

  • ‘My partner and I recently sold both of our properties using Downer & Co and can honestly say they have been fab! From day 1 Stuart was honest and gave us great advice on how to sell our properties, which resulted in multiple offers and both of us achieving well over our asking prices. Then throughout the sales progression Fraser was extremely efficient and was always at the end of the phone to help (even when I called several times a day when we were trying to exchange!!!) Stuart and Fraser are a real credit to the team and everyone else we have spoken to in the office have also been very helpful.
    We are over the moon in our new our new home 🙂
    Thanks everyone!!x’

    E & C, 19 October 2014

    Purchaser, Vendor

  • ‘Great service, good communication and removed the stress of house hunting.’

    Mr Hunter, 12 October 2014

  • ‘We knew Downer had a good reputation and they offered a good rate, Stuart Vosper was very friendly and we felt confident he would do his best for us. Fraser was very patient with us and always rang us back if he was not around to take the call.’

    Mr & Mrs Simpson, 8 October 2014

  • ‘ We used Downer & Co due to a recommendation. We felt we received a speedy valuation and good instant feedback from viewings.’

    Mr & Mrs Jetha, 27 September 2014

    Vendor

  • ‘Buying our house through Downers was a positive experience throughout. Frazer and Richard – the staff we dealt with – were friendly, helpful and dealt with all our requests/ concerns in a professional way. We can’t thank Chris enough as he managed to fit our viewing for this house in between our other viewings – had it not been for him we would not be living in our lovely house!
    Altogether a positive experience – we would highly recommend Downers to other house buyers.’

    J Hicklin, 26 September 2014

    Purchaser

  • ‘I was impressed with everybody that I dealt with in both sales and lettings. It was an excellent experience!’

    Mr White, 26 September 2014

  • ‘We purchased our apartment via Downer & Co and dealt with Fraser who made the sale run smoothly from start to finish. After 4 years, we decided to put the property back on the market due to a change in circumstances. We chose Downers once again as they have an outstanding track record in the area. Richard Bailey found us a buyer within a week or so and our property was only officially on the market for 3 days, we were happy customers! Fraser oversees the sale once it has been agreed and once again, proved to be a great asset.  We did unfortunately experience a problem with the surveyors. It took 6/8weeks for an appointment and then it was cancelled due to an unforeseen accident. We were very frustrated but Fraser quickly put the situation right by negotiating a new appointment the very next week!

    We have now exchanged contracts and want to thank both Richard and Fraser for all of their help and support throughout. We would highly recommend Downer & Co to anyone looking for a professional and reliable agent.’

    K M Jenkins, 9 September 2014

    Vendor

  • Richard listened, supported, acted and then was on hand whenever there was a hurdle that needed jumping. They achieved our sale at full asking price following the first viewing and held our hands throughout. In fact we bought this very property through them and their recent behaviour proved it wasnt a fluke. When Richard wasnt available his team, notably Fraser, was always on hand to step into the breach. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

    Simon Cook, 22 August 2014

  • We had previously used Downer and Co when purchasing our property and they were fantastic then. They kept us well informed and really helped the purchasing process along. With this in mind we decided to use them to sell our property earlier this year. Once again they have proved themselves to be excellent. Richard spent some time making sure that we had photographs of the property that showed our home perfectly. They have also been extremely helpful in liaising with all parties as we progressed down the sale and purchase route. Fraser has been fantastic in keeping us up to date with the progress of the sale and I can honestly say that we would definitely use them again. First class service from start to finish, very rare these days.

    Mrs C, 22 August 2014

    Vendor

  • Fraser was extremely helpful with my move into a shared ownership property. The process was longer than ‘normal’ but fraser kept me up to date constantly and did lots of chasing for me to get the process completed as quickly as possible. He was Very professional and easy to approach. Could not fault any of the staff at Downer & co from Becky answering my many calls so politely to Stuart who was so eager to get sale moving as quickly as possible.
    Thanks to all you guys you really did do a great job!
    Would definitely recommend you to my friends and family.

    Shirley, 20 August 2014

    Purchaser

  • ‘We found Downer & Co to be a fantastic estate agent – they kept us fully informed of the proceedings up and down the chain; which I might add our selling agent didn’t do. We mostly dealt with Richard Bailey who was always professional, courteous and very helpful, willing to go the extra mile without hesitation. I can’t recommend Richard highly enough and all at Downers seemed very helpful. Just a shame our selling agent wasn’t as half as good.’

    Martin Pounds, 8 August 2014

    Purchaser

  • ‘Downer and Co were bot pushy at all which was nice, but quick to respond to my questions’

    Ms V Martin, 8 August 2014

    Purchaser

  • .May I thank you for al your help and ask you to pass on to Louise (sorry I don’t recall her surname) how helpful she was. She is an asset to Downers, she pitches it perfectly and was always very informative.

    I would certainly recommend Downers as an estate agent.’

    Mrs G Tilley, 11 July 2014

  • To Fraser, Leo, Richard and the rest of the Downer team,

     

    Thank you for all your help with the selling of Peachey Drive and Bluebell Way.

     

    From Gareth and Emma

    Gareth & Emma, 11 July 2014

    Vendor and Purchaser

  • ‘Dear All at Downers,

    THANK YOU.

    Richard- A huge thank you for finding us the house and giving us the ‘heads up’ and for just all your hard work for us.

    Bex- Thank you for forever transferring on the phone and taking messages just about everyday.

    Fraser- Thank you for just being so persistent and patient and for being just FANTASTIC in general.

    This house is a keeper 🙂

    Thank you again, Carl, Melissa and Esme’

    Carl, Melissa and Esme, 11 July 2014

    Vendor and Purchaser

  • ‘From the moment I called with an initial enquiry to view the property I was impressed with the professional attitude of all the staff I came into contact with.’

    Rachel, 11 July 2014

    Purchaser

  • I Bought through Downer and Co previously and found them competitive. Becky was great at keeping me up to date.’

    Samantha Allen, 9 July 2014

    Purchaser

  • ‘Fraser and Leo were both very helpful. I am certain to recommend Downer and Co to others.’

    Karen Barlow, 9 July 2014

    Purchaser

  • ‘ We felt the negotiations were handled in a very transparent and fair way. Richard was very prompt in setting up a viewing and gave superb, professional service. We have been very impressed by the level of service we received from Downers. We will definitely use you again in the future! ‘

    Mr Pounds, 8 July 2014

    Purchaser

  • We felt Stuarts personality was key to the reason we choose Downer & Co. The House sold very quickly. We were particularly impressed with Stuart and Rebecca, they were both excellent. We also bought our next property through Downers, when arranging a viewing it was done quickly. Richard was proffesional but also easy to speak to. Fraser was always willing to speak to us and work through any questions. We throughly recommend Downer and Company.

    Mr & Mrs Burger, 29 May 2014

    Vendor and Purchaser

  • I used Downer and  Co as Stuart was the most positive about the house. They did everything they promised, found a buyer and chased the sales to the end. Fraser kept chasing the chain to get an exchange. I am certain to recommend Downer and Co to others.

    J Tankaria, 9 May 2014

    Vendor

  • Rebecca was very professional and engaging during my initial viewings. I was impressed by Fraser and Leo due to the communication I received during the sales process.

    Rhys Jones, 9 May 2014

    Purchaser

  • I used Downer and Co to sell my house as sold a previous house through them with no problems. All the staff are very professional. Fraser kept me in touch with all goings on.

    Jean Hicks, 9 May 2014

    Vendor

  • Everyone at Downer & Co was very fair, courteous and reliable. During my tenancy I found everything efficient and the staff were responsive and a pleasure to deal with throughout.

    Peter, 8 May 2014

    Tenant

  • I had plenty of viewings with pleasant staff. I used Downer and Co due to a recommendation. All the staff are really good.

    D Wordley, 7 May 2014

    Vendor

  • I was impressed by Chris as he was very pleasant, friendly and a helpful gent!!

    G Reece, 7 May 2014

    Purchaser

  • Fraser and the team at Downers were exceptionally helpful and supportive throughout the purchase process, supporting us with updates and information whenever requested. I would recommend Downerand Co unreservedly.

    John Hampson, 6 May 2014

    Purchaser

  • All the members of the staff I have found to be extremely professional, I have brought 2 properties using this company and also they found tenants for 2 of my rental properties.
    During the buying process the staff keep me up to date and were very helpful throughout the process, liaising with the Solicitors, and seller. I would highly recommend this company.

    A Cubby, 6 May 2014

    Landlord, Vendor

  • Stuart valued the property above our expectations. They showed all the prospective buyers round for me. They negotiated the sale price, and achieved the asking price. Fraser was excellent at chasing the rest of the chain and achieving an exchange.

    Mr & Mrs Tankaria, 5 May 2014

    Vendor

  • Couldn’t recommend Downer & Co enough. Have both purchased & sold with them over the last 5 years & I wouldn’t use anyone else if I could help it. Their communication is second to none, they get the job done in super quick time & they truly care/ have a passion for what they do.
    Over the years I have picked Leo’s brains on a number of house market related issues, from running past extension plans, to asking his opinion on houses that we were not even on their books!! (Note: I am not a property developer!) – he really does go above & beyond to help you.
    All the team are just kind, honest, trustworthy people…. They are a rare breed!

    Kirstin, 30 April 2014

    Vendor

  • As a landlord of 3 properties (2 in Newbury), I have used Downer to find appropriate tenants and undertake security checks etc. I found Downer & Co attract good tenants. All my tenants have told me they have had a positive experience using them…from the initial administration forms, to moving in. Of note are the fees paid by a tenant – which are very low (unlike other agents in Newbury). I don’t like tenants being ripped off, and its nice to see that Downer & Co have very goods admin fees, that are sensible and cover sensible costs. Check in and check out reports are well administered. The showing of prospective tenants is done efficiently. Phones are answered quickly and with a polite manner.

    I whole heatedly recommend them. Lee (the Lettings Director) was my contact mainly.

    John Pemberton, 24 March 2014

    Landlord

  • From start to finish we received an excellent service from Downer’s. As professional tenants we are very demanding but no request was too much trouble. We received immediate responses and where required first class support from qualified trades persons. (Only minor maintenance issues).
    The administration process on starting and ending the tenancy was stress free.
    We would have no hesitation in recommending Lee and the team at Downer’s to both landlords and tenants alike.

    James, 5 March 2014

    Tenant

  • Downer and Co recently helped Westbuild to sell our 9 new build houses in Lambourn. Leo and Rebecca were particularly pro-active in finding good quality buyers and coming up with new marketing initiatives last summer, when the market was weaker. Leo was always very helpful and quick to return my calls and emails, and respond to constant hounding!
    Overall we achieved sales prices in excess of what we expected prior to launch, and ultimately, we can’t expect more from an agent. The sales rate was slower over the summer period, but this was expected and not a criticism to be directed at Downer and Co.
    The sales progressing, handled by Fraser, was excellent, with prompt and appropriate communication with the chain’s agents and solicitors, and applying necessary pressure when necessary.

    Guy West, Westbuild Homes, 7 February 2014

    Vendor

  • Downers listened to what we were trying to achieve and acted accordingly. They successfully marketed the property, clearly having a good knowledge of the prospective buyer base. The particulars were very well put together and done quickly. We accepted an offer within a week of the property going on the market.

    Rudolph, 4 February 2014

    Vendor

  • The staff at Downer & Co in Newbury were friendly and professional in all of our dealings with them.  The fact that they knew the market well meant that they were able to give sound advice, which led to a quick sale.  In addition, they were extremely efficient when organising viewings and kept us well informed throughout the whole process.  There was a delay of some months between our intiial meeting with Richard and the time when the house went on the market, which gave us the space and time we needed to get things organised. Fraser went out of his was to keep us informed as to what has happening after the house was sold.  Without their support and expertise the selling of the property would have been more stressful.   We have no hesitation in recommending them.

    Anne and Jeremy H, 10 January 2014

  • I used Downer for the second time at the end of 2013 and again they didn’t disappoint. Stuart and Fraser were very attentive and helped us achieve a very fast sale at the price we wanted.

    I would have no hesitation in using them for a third time.

    Mr S, 10 January 2014

    Vendor

  • We bought a house through Downer & Co and were generally very impressed. They were attentive to our needs (questions and requests) and generally got things moving for us when needed.

    The purchase was held up by certain technical elements, though Downer, and in particular Fraser worked hard to help with these and get things sorted where they could.

    I would have no hesitation in recommending Downer when selling a property.

    Mr H, 7 January 2014

    Purchaser

  • Very happy with the service we received from Downer and especiallsy Rosemary and Sue.  They were helpful during our time in the property dealing with any issues we had and were always corteous in keeping us in the loop when we had provided notice in terms of visits and work being completed on the flat.

    Carrie, 7 January 2014

    Tenant

  • We have just moved into the property that we purchased from Downer and Co and have to say although it took a long time to move in (this was not the fault of Downer but various issues with solicitors) Fraser at Downer was consistent in chasing up the entire chain and worked extremely well with the other agents. I would thoroughly recommend Downer as a trustworthy, genuine company and will use them again in the future.

    Rob Fisher, 6 January 2014

    Purchaser

  • Having bought our house from Downer originally and having been pleased with the experience, we had no hesitation in instructing them when we came to sell ourselves.  Overall the team were responsive in every aspect of the sale, while being fair and transparent in equal measure.  In short, the team demonstrated a very professional way of working that made a traditionally emotional process pretty painless.

    James Walsh, 18 December 2013

    Vendor

  • From the first point of contact to the last, the service we received from everyone at Downer was excellent. We had a lengthy chain (9!) and it was handled exceptionally well by Fraser who was always on hand to sort out any issues that arose. All in all we can honestly say that they exceeded our expectations and we would have no hesitation in recommending Downer & Co.

    Steve & Wendy Grist, 5 December 2013

    Vendors

  • Fraser Crumlish = Hero!

    He was brilliant and deserves a medal for the stress we all went through!

    My purchasers and vendors are with Downer and Co. so Fraser has been involved all along the line.  Things started to go wrong about a month ago due to the incompetence of solicitors,  I started speaking to Fraser at this time as a go between and have been speaking to him on a daily basis – sometimes many times a day.  Fraser has gone above and beyond what you would expect of an estate agent.  He has chased solicitors, talked to purchasers and vendors and worked his socks off to get this through and he has even contacted outside organisations to try to resolve problems within the chain.  We have laughed, cried and sworn together but he has come through for all of us!  What a guy!  So pleased to have been able to work with him and would recommend him to anyone!  I will miss him!!!

    Ann, 5 December 2013

    Purchaser

  • My house was let through Downer and Co lettings so I decided to use the sales department when it came to selling. The proffesional service and helpful nature of all the staff would ensure that I recommend them to others in the future. Thanks again!

    Patrick Cummuskey, 4 December 2013

    Landlord and Vendor

  • A great team!  Always available to help and sort out any concerns we had. It most probably will not be the last either. Thank you for all your help and support throughout the process. 🙂

    Carl and Melissa, 2 December 2013

    Purchasers

  • Fantastic service, viewing at a convenient time, lovely property, efficient assistance with all the form filling and financial side of things. Very friendly and professional, answering queries quickly after moving in as well as before. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and if you are looking to rent I would really recommend Downers.

    Nick, 27 November 2013

    Tenant

  • We sold our house through Downer and Co as we were  recommended to them by other satisfied customers. They gave us prompt feedback from viewings. We also bought through Downers and felt Stuart and Fraser always kept us informed .

    Wonderful service, we are very happy in our new home.

     

    Mr & Mrs Ludewig, 22 November 2013

    Purchaser, Vendor

  • I used this estate agent in particular as I felt I was given a personal service and personal assurances. I trusted them to manage the sale of my house and throughout the whole process they acted professionally and efficiently. I would use their services again and I would recommend them to my friends and colleagues.

    Denise Howarth, 21 November 2013

    Vendor

  • I believe my initial contact with Downer and Co was with Rebecca, then Leo and finally Fraser…..
    Telephone enquiries were dealt with promptly and efficiently. Fraser managed to “steer” me through some of the complexities and intricacies of the house purchase and was an absolute star in finding out what the hold up was with my sale, when no one could give me a direct answer. Obviously Frasers experience of dealing with highly stressful situations in the house sale/purchase chain went a very long way to allay my anxieties and frustrations at the glacial pace some parties to my sale/purchase took. Many thanks Fraser! I owe you a drink or 6!!!!!

    Stu Jamieson, 18 November 2013

    Purchaser

  • We felt that the staff were polite, courteous and professional from the first point of contact to the last. I think Downer and Co have it down to a fine art! I will certainly recommend Downer and Co in the future.

    Mr & Mrs G, 17 November 2013

    Vendor

  • Excellent service and a very professional approach , especially by Stuart and Fraser.Sold my hose through Downers in 4 days and have recommended them to my friends.

    Chris Harris, 15 November 2013

    Vendor

  • I have to say that Fraser has been an absolute star. He went above and beyond to ensure that my house sale went through, and that we (my boyfriend and I) managed to buy our new home (even though this was not even through Downer). He was fantastic at getting to the bottom of issues and piecing together a complicated chain and took responsibility when nobody else in the chain did. He is a cut above any other estate agents I have dealt with and the commitment and personal approach through Downer has meant that I would use them again, for sure!! Without Fraser I am not sure that we would have exchanged contracts and he is an absolute asset to Downer and Co!! The company is certainly a cut above other agents in the Newbury area, and we were dealing with Strutt and Parker and Downer. Downer won hands down for service, commitment and their personable approach!

    Well done Downer

    Sam, 28 October 2013

    Vendor

  • From start to finish Downer & Co were a great team to work with. Stuart may have started the ball rolling by understanding what we were looking for and introducing us to our new home. But it was Fraser who kept us calm, informed and supported during what became a somewhat drawn out process, beyond his client’s and our control. A lot of patience and good humour went a long way to keep us reassured and happy – that alone I would suggest is close to priceless.

    If I was prospective seller I’d want to be reassured that my buyer’s were well taken care of on my behalf, and that’s exactly what we experienced.

    We have no plans to move house anytime soon, but if we did Downer & Co would be our first stop of call.

    Laura Stevens, 15 October 2013

    Purchaser

  • You all are so kind and hardworking. My wife and I really appriciate what you have done so very much.

    Mr & Mrs Bradfield, 25 September 2013

    Vendors

  • Being that I am on my own you have made my journey much easier, thank you so much. Nothing was to much trouble.

    Mrs Honey, 2 September 2013

    Vendor

  • We have recently bought a property through Downers and have been extremely pleased with the excellent service we have received, from the initial call to view the property to the final completion.
    Richard was very good showing us the property but in the office Fraser in particular has been extremely professional and helpful through the whole process, setting up the viewing and then contacting us every week to make sure that everything was progressing and that we did not have any problems or questions.
    I would recommend Downers and especially Fraser to anyone looking to buy a property.

    Mary C, 23 August 2013

    Purchaser

  • Many thanks for a job well done and all of your help – superb levels of service.

    Mr Charlesworth, 16 August 2013

    Landlord

  • We recently purchased our new home through Downer and Co and couldn’t be more than satisfied with their friendly and professional service.  We have had recent experience of other estate agents when selliing our old home and found some to lacking in general awareness of our circumstances and knowledge of the property they were selling.  Fraser Crumlish (or Hamish as I sometimes called him, sorry Fraser) was both receptive and friendly, Rebecca was also very helpful and we couldn’t praise them highly enough with the dealings that we had with them.  Thanks again Downer and Co we would definately recommend them for anybody buying our house in this area.

    Mr & Mrs Dobrowolski, 6 August 2013

    Purchasers

  • The reason we picked Downer & Co was due to the number of boards that were in the village. The service we received exceeded our expectations. ‘

    Don’t mend what is not broken!’

    Mr McQueen & Mrs Rowley, 25 July 2013

    Vendors

  • We Choose Downer & Co due to their local reputation. We felt they were very professional, with good local knowledge and proven sales records.

     

    T Spreadbury, 25 July 2013

    Vendor

  • We shopped around and interviewed 3 Estate Agents.  Downer & Co came out top in our score rating.  Stuart Vosper came into our house full of information which he found out about our house & area prior to his interview.  He showed professionalism and we found that he was hungry for the business, which we thought was great in order to sell our house.
    The viewings were (keeping the house in show condition was nearly a full time job especially with children in the house!) from the right category of people, and Rebecca who conducted serveral viewings managed brilliantly!!  We didn’t feel there was any time wasters.
    Then came the offer!!
    This is when Fraser was put to the test,  he is very professional and also  more importantly has great understanding of the stress us sellers go through!!  He kept us updated throughout, and straightened the hiccups along the way with the help from Mandy.
    I would recommend Downer & Co to anyone who is wishing to buy or sell a property.

    Mr and Mrs Williams, 27 June 2013

    Vendors

  • The entire service has been excellent, everyone has been very helpful.

    Ms K Goodfield, 26 June 2013

    Purchaser

  • Professional approach, you listened to what we said and got the job done.

    Mr and Mrs Whatson, 20 June 2013

    Vendors

  • Excellent service. We achieved our aim of selling quickly and for a very good price. The property was only on the market for 4 weeks and sale completed in 5. Good communication. Hopefully Downers will find us our perfect next home.

    Carol, 10 June 2013

    Vendor

  • Fraser Crumlish manged the communication between solicitors and clients in the chain and updated me on  a regular basis. When my first buyer pulled out of the transaction Fraser found  replacement buyers within a couple of days and a better purchase price was negotiated. Leo Downer was also involved at the initial stages and also contacted me when there were any problems.  A great job done by the team at Downers.  Thanks very much!

    Robert Calver, 6 June 2013

    Vendor

  • I have never rented a property before so this is all new to me but I have to say the service I have received from yourselves is absolutely fantastic.  Thank you so much for your support and timely resolution.

    MISS CM MORGAN, 5 June 2013

    Tenants

  • You are first class!

    Mr and Mrs Bradford, 4 June 2013

    Vendors

  • The first time i have ever sold a property I thought it would be a nightmare but it went smoothly.  You were all very helpful.

    Mrs S Trimble, 24 May 2013

    Vendor

  • Both Stuart Vosper and Fraser Crumlish dealt with our purchase. We were kept upto date and would be happy to use their services again should the situation arise.

    Mr and Mrs Townsend, 23 May 2013

    Purchasers

  • Professional approach, helpful and sympathetic when dealing with an awkward buyer! Fraser kept me upto date, which meant I didn’t need to do much chasing; he listened to what I wanted to do when faced with requests to drop the price by the buyers. He even went above the call of duty and read my gas and electric meters on completion as I was on holiday. I’ve used Downers before to sell, and let my property out – I will definitely use them again!

    Mrs B, 23 May 2013

    Landlord and Vendor

  • Our property has been rented out through Downer & Co. for the past 12 years. As a landlord/landlady living abroad I have not always been the easiest person to deal with, as it is a big worry for me not being around when things get difficult with tenants. In general, the staff have always been very professional, polite & have worked hard to make sure we have had tenants throughout the letting period. If you are thinking of letting your property in the Newbury area, go with Downer & Co.

    Mrs J Shapland, 23 May 2013

    Landlord

  • Many thanks for the efficient manner you have dealt with the sale of our property.

    Mr B Strong, 23 May 2013

    Vendor

  • Fraser was very calming when they chain appeared to be going wrong.  Thank you for helping us stay sane through the process and helping us get our lovely new home.

    Mr and Mrs T, 20 May 2013

    Purchasers

  • Many thanks for my copy of the tenancy agreement and the invoice for your services. I have been pleased with the professionalism of your team and the services provided to me.

    J Davies, 24 April 2013

    Landlord

  • Today the plumber came out to have a look at our boiler. I wanted to inform you that the plumber commented on how ‘brilliant’ Downer were as a company and that they will always do their best to help you out’ – both of which I couldn’t agree more! You are always very professional, empathetic and friendly and you also always get whatever it is sorted!

    H Heimsoth, 23 April 2013

    Tenants

  • I have been using downer to manage my properties since 1989 – thats a long time. I have used other agents but in the long run Downer always comes up trumps. They are good at the paperwork and deal with queries from tenants quickly. I always get a call from the lady who does the inspections keeping me up to date on the maintenance. A well organised firm.

    Thames Vale Properties Ltd, 17 April 2013

    Landlords

  • Can I just say, Sally! What a fab team you have at Downer! I know I speak to Rosemary regularly about stuff, but you guys really are the best! Thank you for looking after me and my 2 little places 🙂 Life would be jolly tricky without you guys there 🙂

    J Stanbrook, 15 April 2013

    Landlord

  • Richard and Fraser you did a great job for us as buyers, kept us informed and advised us of the vagaries of the British sales process.  Thanks very much for a job well done.

    Mr and Mrs E Curtis, 12 April 2013

    Purchasers

  • Details of the property were professional.  We were kept updated about the viewings that took place and then when the sale was agreed we got fairly regular progress reports.  The property was a flat that had tenants in whilst property was viewed by prospective purchasers. This was well handled.

    G Shelmerdine, 10 April 2013

    Vendor

  • Excellent service, excellent communication, great rates and the peace of mind knowing we can forget about our house whilst living abroad. During our 6 years as clients of Downer & Co, we have had several changes which have been dealt with smoothly and with almost no house vacant time! Top marks from us and would not hesitate to recommend Downers to friends and family

    Jay and Liz, Landlords, 6 April 2013

  • I was recommended to use Downer & Co by a number of people and was impressed by the initial valuation. Richard Bailey understood our needs and our property. Fraser Crumlish kept me constantly up to date!

    Miss B Ellsmore, 5 April 2013

    Vendor

  • I bought the property from Downer and Company in October 2009, when I decided to sell I came back to Downers who sold it within three months. I would certainly recommend this company with a special mention to Stuart and Fraser for their help!

    P Rowe, 5 April 2013

    Vendor

  • Having tried to sell a property for 9 months with a competitor only to be let down on 2 occasions, I switched to Downer & Co and managed to sell within 6 weeks. Stuart was excellent and kept pushing the house to sell it. Fraser was brilliant and kept me informed regarding slow solicitors etc. Definitely would recommend and use again (if we decide to move again!)

    A Gratton, Vendor, 27 March 2013

  • We went with Downers because my daughter and her partner purchased a house through them and Leo was a brilliant Negotiator. We just wanted to say a big thank you for making the whole process so easy going.

    G Ong, 25 March 2013

    Purchasers

  • We were extremely impressed with the way downer sold our property for us . we felt they went that extra mile encouraging people to come and view with an excellent description and photos and also a wealth of experience about the area ie schools which were in catchment and parking etc and anything they didn’t know for example who cut the shared hedge at the front of the property – they asked us, so they were correctly informed before speaking to any one viewing which fills prospective buyers full of confidence and we felt showed professionalism. They found us a good buyer and I trusted there experience and advise which proved invaluable and helped the whole process run smoothly from start to finish within 5 months. Stuart also was very pro active helping us secure the sale on the property we wanted to buy- he contacted the agent involved and did his absolute best to help secure the house we wanted to buy which then enabled us to sell ours making all the pieces of our move fit together and then we were able to progress . Frasier was also brilliant at keeping us informed with how things were going and again was extremely professional and pleasant to work with. These guys are brilliant and know there jobs inside out- I highly recommend them as having used two different agents locally in the past Downer are simply the best!

    P Day, Vendor, 21 March 2013

  • Fraser, Stuart and Gail couldn’t of been more helpful whilst selling our property. We sold our house within 3 weeks of it being in the market then two months later we lost them, however the team worked tirelessly to get us a new buyer within 2 weeks and whilst we were abroad. They knew of the importance of us not losing our property we were buying. They worked closely with the other agent to make the move as seamless as possible. They always kept us up to date with what was happening throughout the process. Throughout the 9 months they were always polite and so helpful, we felt in safe hands and the best thing was they worked so hard for us from getting a buyer to keeping the buyer and e en in the day if the move they were still on the end of the phone making sure it was all going well. I would highly recommend Downers and Co to anyone looking to seller their property and want a team if people who will work for them from start to finish.

    Name withheld, Vendor, 15 March 2013

  • I would recommend Downer & Co as an estate agent, they were courteous, professional, knowledgeable and always kept me upto date with details as they were happening. The sale of my house was in the best possible hands, Richard and Fraser, as I felt they were working with my best interest. I would not hesitate to return to Downer’s should I sell again.

    R Fuell, Vendor, 13 March 2013

  • Richard’s positive attitude and local knowledge were excellent, Fraser then was exceptionally kind and patient keeping us updated when all our sanity had gone.

    Mr and Mrs Velthuis, Vendors, 12 March 2013

  • Extensive knowledge of the market, very helpful and kept us up to date throughout.

    Mrs Pitts, Vendor, 12 March 2013

  • Stuart was very keen and convinced us he could sell our property, Fraser kept us informed, was quick to respond in a friendly manor to our queries.

    Mr and Mrs Vokins, Vendors, 12 March 2013

  • You looked after everything I needed you to – the whole team were excellent.

    P Anderson, Vendor, 12 March 2013

  • Stuart and Fraser were both extremely helpful and provided a great level of service.

    Mr and Mrs Lewis, Vendors, 12 March 2013

  • The after sales service we received was fantastic – I will recommend Downer’s largely as a result of this.

    Dr and Mrs Martin, Vendors, 12 March 2013

  • You explained everything thoroughly and were always willing to answer my questions.

    J Holman, Vendor, 12 March 2013

  • I think Downer & Co has it spot on! Very well done.

    C Cross, Buyer, 12 March 2013

  • Thank you for helping us to purchase our first home. Leo and Fraser in particular were great, very helpful in making the process quick but thorough.

    Miss Byrne & Mr. Westbury, First Time Buyers, 12 March 2013

  • Not the best of times to be selling a house but the sale went through smoothly. Always good dealing with Leo, Fraser and the rest of the team throughout the process. A firm recommendation.

    JP, Vendor, 12 March 2013

    Vendor

  • I originally contacted Downer & Co as a result of personal recommendations from friends. The property attracted a lot of interest but with a flat market it took 10 months for the sale to be completed. Throughout that period, Downers were always on the ball and kept in regular contact with me, listened and advised in a very professional manner. For every viewing, I was given a short but helpful written report, It was clear, that prospective purchasers were also handled very well. As a family business rather than a big chain, I would certainly commend this company to anyone thinking of selling in this area.

    Mr Anderson, Vendor, 12 March 2013

    Vendor

  • Having sold our property at a reduced price for a quick sale, under the pretext that the purchaser was a cash buyer, it was then discovered that they required a mortgage. Frazer and Stuart worked very hard at keeping on top of the situation, keeping us informed either by email or phone on a very regular basics. If it hadn’t been for Fraser persistence with the sale we would not have completed at the required time and the sale would have fallen through.

    This is the second time I have used Downers services and would certainly use them again

    Julie, 11 March 2013

    Vendor

  • We have been using Downers for many years and we have always been pleased with not only the way that they do business, but with the professionalism and friendliness of the staff.  This and the quality of their tenants makes for a great working relationship and provides for business peace of mind..

    Thanks Downers and keep up the good work

    Mr and Mrs Edwards, Landlords, 8 March 2013

    Landlords

  • As professional renters, we have a long experience of interacting with letting Agencies. When we identified a property with Downer & Co, the process from the initial call to the handover day was managed very professionally. Any queries were dealt with without delay, and all obligations and liabilities on our part were clear from the outset, with no hidden items. This is very important.

    When we reached the end of our tenancy, we experienced the same professional service.

    Our day to day contact at  Downer & Co was Sue Barrett, and it was a pleasure to deal with Sue and we thank her for making the whole experience stress free.

    C Dynan, Tenant, 8 March 2013

    Tenants

  • Richard Bailey did the initial valuation and took the photos. He advised us on the price we could expect, This was difficult as the house was unique, therefore no local comparisons were available, but he was confident that it was realistic. The photos were absolutely excellent, showing a panoramic of the house, garden and views. The brochure and presentation on Rightmove were superb, far better than those we had seen from other agents.

    Downers did most of the showings and we got over 30 viewings within a few weeks resulting in 3 offers at or near to the asking price. Which in a difficult market was amazing. Once sold, we found a chain free house in Devon within a couple of weeks. However, this was the most difficult move we have ever had, due to people down the chain dragging their feet and our vendor seriously threatening to pull out. She set a deadline for the completion and Downers had to chase the chain really hard to get them all to meet the date. Most of the communication was done by Fraser Crumlish who was extremely patient and really worked at it,  providing feedback almost daily.

    We have moved house 9 times before and this was by far the most stressful, if it had not been for Downers efforts, I’m sure it would have all fallen through. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

    C Wright, Vendor, 5 March 2013

    Vendors

  • Our agent sold the property within a few days of us engaging them, after 5 months listed with another agent who we had very little interest via. Sale seemed to go through quickly, but we had to do a lot of phoning to get information from them. We also bought our next property through Downers, and it seemed to go ok but it was a fairly straight forward chain and transaction. We did at times think that as Downers had both the sale and purchase, they would have worked harder to push things through. Overall we were happy with the dealings we had with Downers.

    Miss V, Vendor and Purchaser, 4 March 2013

    Vendor and Purchaser

  • Very professional, friendly and efficient staff, kept us up to date throughout as we had a very difficult chain. Always answered our queries and would highly recommend.

    Shelley, 3 March 2013

    Purchaser

  • Downers were a pleasure to work with. They were friendly, yet efficient always keeping us informed and the people below and above us within the chain. Moving home is a stressful event and Downers did everything in their control to make it less so.

    Both my wife and I recommend Downers unreservedly and if we were to move again we will certainly use them.

    Mr and Mrs W, 2 March 2013

    Vendors

  • As a first time buyer Downer and Co were very helpful in general and guided me through the process. The sale seemed to drag on due to other parties in the chain and where my solicitor failed Fraser stepped in and helped move the process along, calming my shattered nerves from the constant twist and turns that involves buying property in a chain. I now live in a lovely little cottage which I am sure would not have happened had they not have been the Agents involved. Last word: Fraser really is the shining star at Downers.

    "Curridge chick", 1 March 2013

    Purchaser

  • We have been more than happy with the Lettings service and would not hesitate to come back to Downers when we have any other properties in the area

    J Mills, 1 March 2013

    Landlord

  • I have had my house managed by Downer & Co for over 4 years. They carry out regular inspections and if any work is required I am advised promptly with options of costs etc, so that all I have to do is decide which option is the best or meets my budget. I have complete confidence that my property is being well managed and would recommend Downer & Co

    J Barr, 22 February 2013

    Landlord

  • We were first tenants through a property managed by Downer and found them to be very thorough on behalf of the landlords they represent. For this reason when we purchased our property and became landlords ourselves, my husband and I didn’t need to consider any other agency to take up the role when we moved overseas. We are now in our 6th year with Downer as managers of our property and have had 3 good tenancies in that time and are very happy with the service they have provided which gives us peace of mind

    Ms Allen, 21 February 2013

    Tenants

  • I can’t recommend Downer and Co highly enough. I had excellent service from the point I made my very first contact with them to the point the buyers of our property picked up their keys – and even beyond that!

    Richard has an excellent knowledge of the local market and gave a thorough and thoughtful valuation of our house. I had other agents give valuations but had nowhere near the confidence in them that I had in Richard. He knows his stuff and I really liked him and trusted him to sell my house – which he did VERY quickly and for exactly what we wanted.

    Following the sale we dealt with Fraser Crumlish who was incredible.  He was always on hand for questions and advice and did a terrific job of supporting us and the buyers through the sale process. I believe Fraser went above and beyond what’s expected of him and I found being able to talk things through with him a source of tremendous reassurance during what can be an emotional and stressful time.

    I look back on our selling experience and think how easy it was and how lucky we were, and I’m so grateful to Downer and Co for their huge part in that. Highly, highly recommended.

    K Martin, 20 February 2013

    Vendor

  • We have sold our house and a piece of land through Downers. They have always been extremely professional, helpful and knowledgeable.  They have kept us up to date with information regarding our sale and always been happy to answer any queries or questions. Their patience was admirable! I would highly recommend Simon and his team and I would definitely engage them again.

    Mrs S Pitts, 20 February 2013

    Vendors

  • After making the hard choice to move it was finally great to deal with very friendly, professional Estate Agents that you can rely on, especially Fraser, Rebecca and Leo were always very courteous and knowledgeable. To us as potential buyers, there never seemed to be an issue viewing the properties we were interested in, they were always very accommodating which was great as it made the process less stressful and enjoyable. I was sorry that we didn’t end up buying our new house through them.

    G Worthington, 14 February 2013

    Purchasers

  • I recently purchased a house through Downer and Co and found them very helpful.  We mainly dealt with Fraser Crumlish and he regularly went above and beyond my expectations.  Viewings were always booked for convenient times (evenings) and we were always kept up to date on any progress.

    The purchase was slightly complicated by our mortgage position and the length of time it took to get mortgage offers raised, however Fraser ensured that communication between us and the vendor (a small local property development company) was always relayed immediately and chases were made as and when necessary.

    I can whole heartedly recommend Downer and Fraser.

    Happy in our new house, 28 January 2013

    Purchasers

  • An absolute pleasure to deal with Stuart and Fraser at Downers!
    I cannot recommend them enough.
    They kept me informed every step of the way (unlike the agents I was buying from!!),
    Always available to give advice and reassurance during what can sometimes be a very stressful
    process!
    My property was previously with another Newbury agents and I changed to Downers, having been let down by the other
    agent far too many times and I had more viewings in the first 7 days with Downers than I had in the whole 2 months with the other agent……. Says it all really!!
    Fraser Crumlish in particular is a little star and his professionalism and above all his humour kept me sane during the process!!
    Would I recommend you to use Downers to buy or sell your property…….ABSOLUTELY!

    Miss T Robinson, 18 January 2013

    Vendor

  • Thank you very much for all that you and your colleagues have done for us in managing xxxxxxx whilst we were the owners. Our association with Downers has been so positive, over so many years.

    Thank you to Rosemary especially, for her efforts on our behalf, and to you all, for excellent, efficient, reliable service to us all the way.

    We could not have kept the studio on without the help of you and your team, and we are big supporters of the Downer & Co. brand!

    Thank you again.  If you need us to write anything to prospective owners needing a Lettings Agency, get in touch!

    Mr and Mrs Cook, 27 November 2012

    Landlords

DOWNER & CO Chartered Surveyors and Estate Agents, 44 Cheap Street Newbury, Berkshire RG14 5BX
Residential Sales • Lettings & Management • Land & Development

Newbury: 01635 523777 (Sales) 01635 523880 (Lettings)
© 2015 Downer & Co. All rights reserved.